JOIN FREE!
  << Back to the Index
OP Contact Card Symbol

Pandemic pandemonium, new normal, something else?

Jeanne- CE!

How are things going in your part of the world, and how are you doing?

Time Out (Alex) Replied:

We are still on a lock down until 05/05, however, we going to keep some employees at home. I'm concerned of it getting worst again. If not now, once fall and winter come.

I'm concerned of what the future will bring.

Jeanne- CE! Replied:

Texas, where I live, is allowing reopening of retail stores, restaurants, movie theatres, and shopping malls at 25% capacity, starting may 1st. Given that this is an election year, I am leery of the motivation behind the decision. Numbers are relatively low given some of the densely populated areas, but not declining, and I do not believe that we have peaked here. It is hard to get accurate reports when info can be taken out of context, along with the fact that there is not proper access to testing materials.

As a teacher, I have a standing guideline that it's ok to disagree, as long as a constructive alternative solution is offered. I ignore idle whining from students, and try not to complain about things, but this is a toughie! It's healthy to express feelings of anger, fear, disappointment, and uncertainty, as our minds and bodies try to cope.

I wish I had a constructive solution to offer, but I do not know if opening up the economy will help, or if it will incite another wave of increased illness. So many folks are dependent on their income from salons, restaurants, and other compromised businesses. For now, I will keep the status quo and stay sheltered in my little turtle shell, and wear a mask and gloves in public places; then see how this phase 1 of reopening pans out.

Be strong and well!

deb Replied: